Mischief in Minneapolis

Gosh, it’s been years since I first performed in Minneapolis, though every time I was just passing through and never even had a chance to eat a meal there until this last time! On my recent Pin-Up Class tour, I spent a record four days exploring it’s wonders and hanging out with fellow redheaded tease, Ophelia Flame, who runs the local burlesque school Playful Peacock with Gina Louise.

At Studio Betties in St. Paul

At Studio Betties in St. Paul

Sadly I didn’t get to meet Miss Louise on this trip, but I’ll definitely be back and hope to catch up with her again. I was lucky to be in town for one of Ophelia’s burlesque fitness class, and after a weekend in Vegas and a week on airplanes, my body needed to get whipped into shape! What a workout! And what fun! I knew I should ease myself into it, but the music was great and the instructor so foxy, that I couldn’t help myself and tried my best to keep up with the pros in the class, like Elektra Cute. I had the pleasure of seeing her perform at BHOF earlier in the month in the Best Debut competition, one of my favourites that night!

I held my class at Studio Betties gorgeous pin-up and boudoir photography studio, which was actually in the St Paul part of Minnesota, so I got a real tour of north and south this time! I was so taken with the lovely old building Jenn’s studio is in. It may go without saying that I have a real fetish for film noir and this place looked like the perfect setup for a crusty old gumshoe’s private detective office, right down to the door lettering!! I’ve always wanted my own studio in a place like this, so fingers crossed that I can make one of those happen back in good old New York.

My students were a real bunch of sweethearts, and with Jenn from Studio Betties helping out, we wrapped early! I was honoured to have one of the local burlesque gals, Oopsy Daisie in class, with her gorgeous natural red curls. She was a vision in black and leopard print, don’t you agree?

Oopsy Daisie by Bettina May

Oopsy Daisie by Bettina May

I was so pleased to discover that Minneapolis has a thriving vegan community, and Jenn

Punk Rawk Nut Cheese!

Punk Rawk Nut Cheese!

treated me to some delicious local vegan cheese. I think I polished off nearly the whole can single-handedly! Thank goodness they export this goodness to New York City, now to trek out to find some!

This weekend I’ll be busy teaching my Bombshell Hair Class at the New York School Of Burlesque Saturday afternoon, and then on Sunday I’ll be teaching my full day makeover and photoshoot Pin-Up Class at the Metropolitan Room. There’s still space in both so click here to sign up!

Stay tuned next week for more about the rest of my tour to Oklahoma City, St. Louis and Atlanta!

Leave a comment